Posted by: Mare F | May 9, 2016

Afghans..

Last year, when I attended my first FFA State Convention and discovered that there was a silent auction, which is one of the  major fund-raisers for the state chapter, I decided that I would make something to donate to the auction this year. I had on hand a supply of yarn that was spun at Barlett’s Yarns in Maine, from sheep raised  by the Ag program a few years ago and this seemed like the ideal use for it. I love the heathered colors of Bartlett’s yarns.

 

HPIM1111

My first thought was to do a sampler of sorts with squares done up with the outline of various agricultural items – a chicken, a tractor, a cow, a tree – and alternate them with either a seed or a moss stitch square. This was a grand idea except that with the lovely heathered colors I lost my images in the darker colors. Once I accepted this disappointing fact, I set out to find a simpler pattern that would show case the yarns.

Ag afghan 001

This is a lovely double crochet cluster with one long double crochet to give it punch that I got out of Quick and Cozy Afghans – one of my favorite afghan pattern books. It worked up fairly quickly in spite of being wool and wanting to stick on the long double crochet.

afghan rug yarn blue batts 001

I was so pleased with the result that I think that I will make another one up out of the remainder of the yarn I have for the house. It is delightfully warm and surprisingly soft once it’s washed. Now, all I have to do is to fill out the paperwork and come up with a value for the afghan I’m donating. This part always seems to be a challenge. Do you have a favorite charity to which you donate?

 

 

 

 


Responses

  1. The seconds picture you can really see the colors well. What issue was the magazine I would like to see if I can get it on eBay or amazon.

    • It is a hard cover book, Crystal, and it really is wonderful. I would be cautious on the 2 strand afghans because the weight may pull it apart if you’re working with acrylic yarns. I’ve been using my copy for the past 20 years, at least.


Leave a comment

Categories