Posted by: Mare F | June 7, 2012

Busy, busy, busy

Time is just flying by  me and waving while it’s passing. This time of year is always hectic, but it seems more so to me right now. Maybe it’s because I’ve so many things going on. Our knitting group is mostly up and running with two sessions twice a month. We are meeting every other Thursday morning and every other Wednesday night in the public meeting room of our local library. This is the end of our fourth week and all seems to be going well, but I still have some paperwork to finish up and get into the mail. I’ve already learned some wonderful things from the people I’m meeting with and I really look forward to our future sessions together.

My garden is taking up a good deal of my time now also. Usually, once it’s planted and mulched I don’t really have a lot to do until we start harvesting vegetables and putting up the surplus, but this year I have 2 more beds than last year and I really want to put in plants that I can use to dye wool in the fall. I only have red cabbage and Marigolds in with my peppers right now, and those I planted when I put in the vegetables. I still need to shop for the plants to put into the other two beds. Oddly enough, I’m also hoping that 4 of the plants in the back of the yard are milk weed because I’ve read that you can spin it – I’m sure I’ll need more than the 4 plants worth – but I would like to give it a try. Plus, if they are milkweed then I can be sure that I know what they look like so I can scarf them up from the side of the road.

I’ve also been fortifying the perimeter of my garden to keep the woodchuck from going after my broccoli, Brussel sprouts, and cabbage. The past three years the darling critter has managed to get past they pellets and other deterrents I’ve used to eat these vegetables down to a nubbin. Well, that will NOT happen this year. I have a temporary enclosure set up for now after spotting him peering through my asparagus stalks a couple of nights ago, but that will change this weekend. My neighbor is giving me fencing that was on her property when she bought her house so I can fully enclose the garden and also make it a bit more attractive. Let’s hope that the woodchuck doesn’t decide that my flowers are yummy also! What do you have going on in your yard now?

Leave a Reply

Categories

