Posted by: Mare F | February 23, 2012

Outdoor yarning…

Do you hobby outside? The weather we are having in northwest Connecticut has me looking at my deck with longing in my eyes, but all of the outdoor furniture is stored in the basement for the winter so sitting outside is something of a challenge. We are only in the month of February and I know full well how surprising the New England weather can be so while I want to be set up outdoors, I will go forth in baby steps for another couple of months.

I have taken my knitting or crochet project with me when I set out to walk to the boat launch about a 1/2 mile from our house. Once there I settle on a rock or fence and take in the lovely view of the water, clouds, and/or sun, but I find that I do this more often during the off-season than not. I guess I just like the quiet while I work and relax. This makes having a portable project going at all times rather important to me. Maybe I am rationalizing the multitude of items I’m making at any given point in time, but I want something that will pop into my backpack and I don’t want to take my car project. We all know how that goes. You take the car project “just this once” and suddenly it’s a home when you need it most.

I have taken my knitting or crochet project with me when I set out to walk to the boat launch about a 1/2 mile from our house. Once there I settle on a rock or fence and take in the lovely view of the water, clouds, and/or sun, but I find that I do this more often during the off-season than not. I guess I just like the quiet while I work and relax. This makes having a portable project going at all times rather important to me. Maybe I am rationalizing the multitude of items I’m making at any given point in time, but I want something that will pop into my backpack and I don’t want to take my car project. We all know how that goes. You take the car project “just this once” and suddenly it’s a home when you need it most.

My livingroom has baskets with my various projects in it. This worked well during the storm we had in October when we lost power for almost a week. I had projects in various stages of progress so I could choose an item to go with the light I had throughout the day. It was too snowy to sit on the deck then.

A bit breezy outside for this.

So back to my original question, I do craft outside. I’m looking forward to weaving outdoors again and I am planning to hold a friends knitting/crocheting/whatever-you-make afternoon on my deck and yard just to enjoy the company and ideas of the people who humor me in my flights of lunacy. I think cookies should be involved.

Responses

  1. I am a basket person, i have one for current knitting, one for needle felting, one for drop spindle, plus I have a paint pot holder that hands from your belt that is great for walking and spinning, a basket for Tunisian knitting, and another for miscellaneous.
    patty-anne

    • I love the idea of the holder for walking and spinning. I’m not adept enough at spinning to walk and spin at the same time. Do you find yourself seeing a use for baskets as you find them? Needlefelting is high on my list of things to do, I have the necessary items except for books. I’m not sure what I want to felt or how to felt it. Do you have any recommendations on felting books?

      • I bought a quart paint can holder that goes on my belt. I pop my fleece or yarn in it and cant trot about knitting or drop spindling without worryig about the “stuff”

      • I grab all the baskets I can find. I have one for each of my various interests, so grab take the one with all the bits and pieces I need are all together.
        The best book I have found for needle felting to date is Ashford (@) Needle Felting, revised edition by Barbara Allen

  2. You are brilliant. What a simple, but effective solution. Thank you for sharing it with me. Off to the hardware store I go.

  3. I have baskets all over the house and in my car for just that reason. They are so adaptable to your needs and reusable that I can’t imagine why I didn’t start doing this sooner. I will look for Ashford Needle Felting, thank you. I just saw some needle felted bunnies on Facebook that were adorable and I do have fleece and roving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

