Posted by: Mare F | February 9, 2012

Yarn frenzy

For a woman who swore she was going to work out of her stash for the foreseeable future I rather fell down this past week. On Saturday a friend and I went on an outing to a new to me yarn shop. It was lovely. Marji’s Yarncrafts in Granby, CT is a beautiful shop and the woman who was working there during our visit was charming and helpful. As always when I get into a yarn shop I was lost for a while just petting the yarn and ogling the magnificent colors. My mind went to mush. I think I was there for about 20 minutes before it occurred to me that I came unprepared. I didn’t have a single pattern in mind and there was far too many beautiful fibers to choose from to not leave with a project in hand. I landed on the Bonsai Shawl in the Interweave Crochet Accessories Special Issue 2011. I bought a beautiful Berocco Vintage in a sweet potato color (although on the website I think it’s called Grapefruit) to make this shawl. Of course I couldn’t stop there. I got a Rowan mohair for another shawl in the same magazine and some Lopi Light that was on clearance. Breathtaking stop.

Finished Bonsai Shawl

After we revived ourselves with a stop at Starbucks we headed to the Ocean State Job Lots in Southwick, MA to see what they had to offer. I am so easy when it comes to yarn. Sigh. I got some Lion Brand Incredible and Fun Fur as well as some Lion Brand Chenille to play with on my RH loom. I’d hoped to be there by now, but life has been constantly stepping on my toes this week. I have a cotton scarf on the loom right now that is my first attempt with this weight so I don’t want to rush it, but I really want to see how this all works up. I’m really very impatient.

His nibs checking out my spoils.

On Tuesday I went to Michaels in Avon to cash in a gift card I got for Christmas from a dear friend. Lion Brand Homespun was on sale and I’ve been promising myself a sweater for the past couple of years. I want a working sweater, one that I can throw in the washer and dryer so Homespun was looking good to me. I got the amount I needed in Quartz, a pretty beige/rose/purple combo that will be lovely in the roomy turtleneck sweater I’ve planned. Now, I couldn’t just buy the yarn I went there to get so I got 2 Fisherman’s Wool in Oatmeal and 2 in Birch Tweed. I see a couple of nice warm shawls coming from these. There was a Tuesday Special on Loops & Threads Impeccable which I got in Earth to make another Crossed Shawl and finally I got the last skein of Caron Simply Soft that I needed in Bone to finish the All Buttoned Up shawl from Austentatious Crochet. Oh, and I got the matching cotton for the last set of dish towels I bought so that I can get them into my studio. I really am shameless. How are you with your craft purchases???

Responses

  1. I’m pretty good with my craft purchases, especially since the stores are out of my way so I can’t stop by to check out the fabric.

    • Maybe that’s why I was so piggy. I don’t often get to any of these stores so it was a bit like a candy shop.


Leave a Reply

Categories

