Posted by: Mare F | November 9, 2011

Advantages to outtages.

In a delightfully surprising twist,  in light of recent events, my life is much more organized and sedate than I would ever have thought it could be after living for 5 days without electricity. Mind you, I didn’t have it that badly, in fact I had it pretty darned good. I currently have 6 felted hats drying on my dining room table and    scarves drying in the livingroom. I managed to knit 3 new hat patterns and crochet one.

I’ve gone through my craft books and made much needed decisions about what I can realistically spend time learning and doing. I dropped off two boxes at the local thrift store this morning on my way to work. I believe that they will find good homes.  I’ve decided not to buy any new yarns until I have worked through at least 2/3 of my stash. Now that I know I want to become accomplished at spinning it will be less of a distraction if I don’t have totes of yarns hanging about the house.  What I don’t sell in my online studio by the 1st of next year, or at the craft fair I am doing the Saturday before Thanksgiving I will happily donate.

This organizing bug popped up out of nowhere, but I’m very glad that it did. I think that I’m almost focussed on my goals and this makes so many things calmer in my life. Disorganization = chaos and I like to be somewhat relaxed when I can manage it. Just knowing that I have a decent selection of items to offer the public weekend after next makes sleeping so much easier.

This organizing bug popped up out of nowhere, but I’m very glad that it did. I think that I’m almost focussed on my goals and this makes so many things calmer in my life. Disorganization = chaos and I like to be somewhat relaxed when I can manage it. Just knowing that I have a decent selection of items to offer the public weekend after next makes sleeping so much easier.

Responses

  1. Your hats are beautiful!

    • Thank you so much. They are sinfully easy to knit also.

  2. The organizing bug hits me from time to time, but it never stays long. 🙂

    • Yes, mine is a somewhat elusive creature too. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

